EU-Africa Business Summit

European Business Summit 2023

28 & 29 NOVEMBER


Egmont Palace, Brussels



The 2024-2029 EU Agenda: Strong Business for a Stronger Europe

With European elections on the horizon in an era of increased global competition, and faced with the challenges of the climate crisis, lagging competitiveness, and strategic vulnerabilities in supply chains, the 2023 edition of the European Business Summit will aim at presenting a united response across all economic sectors.

As Europe recovers from the global pandemic, a key lesson has been the value of public-private partnerships to foster resilience in the modern era. Therefore, the importance of dialogue between industry, policymakers and civil society has never been more apparent. Building stronger together is the key to ensuring that Europe will remain a global leader and a prosperous economy for years to come.

Through a hybrid event combining a physical and online participation, the Summit will include an in-person event with exclusive networking opportunities as well as the live-streaming of each panel discussion and interview.


Alexander De Croo

Prime Minister of Belgium 

Fatih Birol

Executive Director, International Energy Agency

Maroš Šefčovič

Executive Vice-President for the EU Green Deal, Interinstitutional Affairs and Foresight, European Commission

Valdis Dombrovskis

Executive Vice President for An Economy that Works for People, European Commission 

Vera Jourová

Vice-President for Values & Transparency, European Commission

Janusz Wojciechowski

EU Commissioner for Agriculture

Virginijus Sinkevicius

EU Commissioner for the Environment, Oceans and Fisheries

Olivér Várhelyi

EU Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement

Sven Giegold

German State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action

Olivier Guersent

Director General, DG COMP, European Commission

Marc Lemaître

Director General, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission 

Maive Rute

Deputy Director General DG GROW, European Commission

Magda Kopczynska

Director General, DG Move, European Commission

Mechthild Wörsdörfer

Deputy Director General, DG ENER, European Commission

Renate Nikolay

Deputy Director General, DG CNECT, European Commission

Reinhard Felke

Director for Policy, Strategy and Communication, DG ECFIN, European Commission

Anna Jarosz-Friis

Director of the Ukraine Service, DG NEAR, European Commission

Aurel Ciobanu-Dordea

Director for Circular Economy, DG ENVI, European Commission

Leontina Sandu

Head of Unit Interoperability and Digital Government, DG DIGIT, European Commission

Martin Ulbrich

Senior Policy Officer, DG CNECT, European Commission

Russell Grandinetti

Senior Vice President, Amazon

Kent Walker

President of Global Affairs, Google

Joe Martinko

President of TSS Business Unit, Chemours

Markus Reinisch

Vice President for Public Policy Europe, META

Gabrielle Gauthey

CEO High Representative by the EU institutions and SVP European Affairs, TotalEnergies

Raphaël De Winter

Director NextGrid, Fluxys

Beatriz Sanz Saiz

Global Consulting Data and AI Leader, EY

Marc Reinhardt

Executive Vice President, Capgemini

Ingrid De Ryck

Vice President Procurement & Sustainability Europe, AB InBev

Yves Vercammen

Chief Corporate Officer, TES-H2

Hendrik Bourgeois

VP European Government Affairs, Intel

Kathrin Dufour

Senior Vice President of Digitalization & Technology, Wintershall

Przemek "Ben" Paczek

CEO, Nevomo

James Waterworth

Director for EU Public Policy, Amazon

Monica Galeote

Head of Public policy Sustainability, Amazon Spain

Simon Worthington

VP External Affairs Europe and Head of Brussels Office, BP

Philippe Ducom

President, ExxonMobil Europe

Olivier de Matos

Director General, CropLife Europe

Stephen Jackson

Deputy CEO, Hydrogen Europe

Erik Rakhou

Associate Director, Boston Consulting Group and Co-Author of “Touching Hydrogen Future”

Dita Charanzová

Vice President, European Parliament

Benedetta De Marte

Secretary General, European Greens

Eva Maydell

Member of the European Parliament

Dragos Tudorache

Member of the European Parliament

Tsvetelina Penkova

Member of the European Parliament

Andrey Novakov

Member of the European Parliament

Maria Graça Carvalho

Member of the European Parliament

Damian Boeselager

Member of the European Parliament

Ivars Ijabs

Member of the European Parliament

Brando Benifei

Member of the European Parliament

Oliver Ropke

President, European Economic and Social Committee

Debora Revoltella

Director of the Economics Department, European Investment Bank

Mathias Cormann

Secretary General, OECD

Valeriya Ionan

Deputy Minister for Eurointegration at Ministry of Digital Transformation of Ukraine

Maxfield Weiss

Executive Director, CDP Europe

Jacek Siadkowski

CEO, Tech to the Rescue

Berfin Roza Mert

Co-founder, Bower

Ralph Ossa

Chief Economist and Director of the Economic Research and Statistics Division, WTO

Katrin Sturm

Secretary General, European Association of Guarantee Institutions

Harriet Bradley

Head of Programme CAP and Food, IEEP

Luisa Santos

Deputy Director General, BusinessEurope

Sam Sharps

Executive Director, Tony Blair Institute

Andrey Kolodyuk

Ukrainian Venture Capital and Private Equity Association

Stefan Sipka

Senior Policy Analyst and Interim Head of Programme, EPC

Antonio Grasso

Public Affairs Director, DIGITAL SME Alliance

Tobias Lechtenfeld

Senior Director, Climate Policy and Strategy, Energy Resilience Leadership Group

Andrew Dudfield

Head of AI and previous interim CEO, Full Fact

Philip Tigges

Chief Financial Officer, Mushlabs GmbH

Alexandre de Streel

Academic Director, CERRE

Luuk Van Middelaar

Director, Brussels Institute for Geopolitics

Anu Bradford

Distinguished Professor, Columbia Law School

Gianclaudio Malgieri

Associate Professor, University of Leiden

Maria Tadeo

Bloomberg Correspondent

Dan Michaels

Wall Street Journal Reporter

Kim Mackrael

Wall Street Journal Reporter

Andy Bounds

Financial Times Correspondent

Dave Keating

France24 Reporter

Méabh McMahon

Euronews Correspondent

Mariam Zaidi

International News Presenter

Ana Rozvar

EBS Reporter

Shada Islam

EU Reporter

Jennifer Baker

EU Reporter

Jack Parrock

EU Reporter

Chris Burns

EU Reporter


Untitled design (17)
The Future of the EU
Untitled design (16)
The Future of the Energy Transition 
Towards an Innovative, Digital and Resilient Economy
Europe in the World: Competition, Trade, and Industry