2nd EU Energy Summit - What will be discussed?

Since the dawn of the COP21 that took place in Paris at the end of 2015, the EU energy Summit 2016, taking place on the 23rd of February in Palais d’Egmont in Brussels under the Patronage of the European Parliament, will gather over 30 world class speakers including country Ministers, industry CEO’s and international thought leaders. They will discuss the implementation of different tools to fulfill the commitments and the objectives established by the first-ever universal, legally binding global climate deal adopted by 195 countries.

With the technological development of renewable sources and the desire to reduce the prevalent weight of the fossil energy in the EU energy-mix, it seems obvious that the European lawmakers have to redesign the European energy framework.

Following the success of the first edition with over 1000 registered participants from various energy fields and industry sectors, the purpose of the EU energy summit 2016 is to define all the tools that will contribute to a balanced energy transition. According to the agreement that came out of the COP21, the energy industry is likely to look very different by 2030. 

Several high-level decision makers and industry leaders will answer and discuss about:

  • A new deal for EU energy on the horizon of 2030?

Miguel Arias Cañete, Jerzy Buzek, Mark Dierikx

  • What is the possible balanced EU decarbonisation strategy after COP21?

Gilles Pargneaux, Artur Runge-Metzger, Anne Houtman, Jean-Bernard Levy, Charlotte Wolff-Bye, Heinz Haller, Tom Brookes

  • Energy efficiency first: a must for the EU energy mix?

Claude Turmes, Dominique Ristori, Olivier Paturet, Diego Pavia, Blanca Losada Martin, Vera Brenzel

  • Electricity: What’s new for the electricity market design?

Marie Christine Marghem, Flavio Zanonato, Dominique Ristori, François Brottes, Giles Dickson, Simone Mori

  • Gas: What are the best tools to optimize its position in the energy transition process?

Krisjanis Karins, Kornelios Korneliou, Mechthild Wörsdöfer, Denis Simonneau, Emmanuel Haton, Jonathan Gaventa

  • Ensuring energy access in an increasingly challenging world.

Neoklis Sylikiotis, Mechthild Wörsdöfer, Laura Cozzi, Anders Marvik, Kevin Sara, Carlos Sallé, Leif Sande

Please note that there are only a few seats left so please register here: